Sunday, April 02, 2006

Aaron Sorkin To Present Drama League Award

From Broadway World:
"The Drama League (Jano Herbosch, President) is proud to announce the recipients of its three annual specialty awards which will be presented at The 72nd Annual Awards Ceremony and Luncheon on Friday, May 5, 2006 (12 p.m.). Patti LuPone (Sweeney Todd) will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award, Des McAnuff (Jersey Boys) will be honored with the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing, and Marian Seldes (Dedication or the Stuff of Dreams) will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award.
Emmy and Golden Globe Award winner Aaron Sorkin will present the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing to Des McAnuff. McAnuff, currently represented on Broadway with the musical Jersey Boys, is slated to direct Sorkin’s new stage drama, The Farnsworth Invention, at La Jolla Playhouse in 2007.
Tickets for the 72nd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon are now available. Tickets are $150-$450. For more information, please call The Drama League at 212-244-9494 ext. 5 or visit"

The Drama League is based in New York City.

Official summary of The Farnsworth Invention from the La Jolla Playhouse:
"The Farnsworth Invention
In 1920, a young Idaho farmer dreams of a device that will project images
transmitted through the air. Across the country, a Russian immigrant turned media mogul, dreams of spreading information to the masses using pictures. In a race that would change humanity forever, two men battle for honor, glory and a place in the history books. Written by West Wing creator and Emmy and Golden Globe Award winner Aaron Sorkin, this riveting new drama uncovers the story behind one of the world's most powerful inventions - television.

Page To Stage Workshop Production
By Aaron Sorkin
Directed by Des McAnuff
Feb. 13 - Mar. 18 2007
Sheila and Hughes Potiker Theatre"

Tickets go on sale June 18.

No comments: